SFI External Professor Matthew Jackson is among 84 new members of the National Academy of Sciences, the NAS announced this week.

Membership is “a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive,” according the NAS website. Members are elected in recognition of their “continuing achievements in original research.”

Jackson, an SFI External Professor since 2007, is the William D. Eberle Professor of Economics at Stanford University.

Read the NAS news release (April 28, 2015)