SFI Professor Cristopher Moore (left) and SFI External Professor John Rundle (right)

Two SFI researchers have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for 2017, the association announced on November 20.

Professor Cristopher Moore was honored for his distinguished contributions to statistical physics and the physics of computing, particularly in the theory of networks, computation in physical systems, and quantum computing, while External Professor John Rundle (UC Davis) was honored for distinguished contributions to earthquake forecasting and hazard analysis research, for both natural and human-induced seismic activity.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), founded in 1848, is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science. Fellows are chosen for their contributions to scientific and societal applications of science and elected by peers. 

Read the announcement on the AAAS website. (November 20, 2017)

View the full database of AAAS fellows.